Friday, October 14, 2011

I might go crazy...

"YOU DON'T EVER YELL KOREAN LIKE THAT IN THIS CLASSROOM AGAIN!!!" I think that everyone knows that my fuse is extremely long and I can put up with a lot of crap before I get angry but today I lost my mind on a bunch of 8 year olds and looking back on it, I still think it was the right thing to do. All I did was randomly group them into partners for games and I get a Korean chant. They were nice and quiet after I finished. I haven't hit the kids yet even though it is acceptable here. I will make note if I actually resort to this.

Next week will be easy. Two excursion days where we really do just babysit and two short days in the afternoon should be good for getting things done and getting to know the town. Now I just need to learn enough Korean to survive and I will be all good. So far I can say "hello" and "thank you." I am aware that this is absolutely pathetic and make no excuses but also don't really care at this point. I am just looking to survive school at this point.

We are headed to a bar where they serve beer in Ice mugs and let you throw them against the wall for prizes. One of the other teachers is taking us there. Since I hate beer, novelty ideas, and socializing this will clearly be a terrible night. I just hope I can find my way home. Good thing is that we live near a highway that has signs for the World Cup Stadium all over it. We are about 15 minutes walking distance from the stadium so if we find the highway, we will find our way home. Cabs are also very cheap so we can just hop in and go almost anywhere.

Enough for tonight. I will update on beer tossing.



No comments:

Post a Comment