Friday, November 4, 2011

Friday again already?

I don't know what happened to the week but I can't believe that it's Friday again. Maybe work is just getting easier, but that was definitely the fastest week yet. It probably has something to do with halloween happening on monday and another excursion on Wednesday. This week we went to an electronics store, tried to get the kids to listen to you while they were on optical stimulation overdrive, stick them back on the bus then go to the school and write a "report: read copy of the board" on the event. The key event of this whole 2 hour adventure is the photo op. The whole point is to get to somewhere that looks plausibly educational, stick a white teacher beside a Korean kid, smile, bear the flash, and do it again. Then take class photos, and some candid shots and event over. It is really strange, but makes for a short day so I don't mind.

I finally put a finger on how do describe the sweetness of food in Korea. I have mentioned it before, but there is a strange amount of sweet food in Korea. It is not like candy, but it is just thinks like spaghetti sauce that is sweeter than you expect. The analogy that I have come up with, is that it's like ordering a potato and getting a sweet potato instead. Except that they look the same so you never know until you bite in.

On the food note, we really need to diversify in our home cooking. We eat processed grilled cheese sandwiches, spaghetti, stir fry, and pancakes. We do however experiment a lot at school partly on purpose, partly because you never know what you are eating until you bite into it. I bit into something that I thought was noodles, turns out that it was a huge dish on tiny fried fish. The "chicken noodle soup" from the other day turned out to be boiled fish stew. The kim chi is sometimes good, sometimes basted in foot flavour. It is always an interesting Russian roulette.

We don't get paid until the 7th so we didn't want to go to Seoul until then. We wanted to go on the 12th, but it is parents day at the school on the Saturday and we have to go and do some fake teaching, help our classes do English plays, and basically show the parents how "good" the school is. (I lucked out, I got the best class in the school, Max did not). It is all crap but we will get paid OT for it so not a huge deal. After finding this out, we decided to go on the 19th but we have been invited to a co-workers wedding. She is Canadian and marrying a Korean guy. Good guy as much as I've met him. It will be a really interesting experience and a good night. Definitely worth sticking around for. Sounds like we will be going on the 26th now. So late, but it should be a good amount of time sticking around town to learn everything in town.

Few fun notes about school:

The kids love touching arm hair. I guess koreans are far less hairy than us Canadians and they won't stop rubbing your hair if you put your arm on their desk.

A kid kept trying to bombard me with kisses the other day. Turns out she kept trying to kiss my belt buckle. It was really frustrating to try and keep my eye on the other kids while trying to keep her away from me. She proceeded to kiss a lamp on the excursion later that day.

Finally, I think it's hilarious that all the Korean co-teachers are on their phones all day. They just keep them handy and text on them or leave the classroom to answer calls like it's no big deal. We have one english teacher who is also on his phone a lot but the rest keep them away. I just think it's funny.

Well I've probably bored people enough for now, will post about the weekend later.

No comments:

Post a Comment